Ladies and Gentlemen:  Acting in Accordance with Article VII of the Constitution of the National Organization of Sierra Leoneans in North America (NOSLINA, Amended 1999) the Board of Directors of NOSLINA has approved and authorized that honors, awards, and recognitions be bestowed on individuals/organizations for exemplary contributions to Sierra Leoneans in North America and in Sierra Leone. The awards will be conferred on Saturday May, 2, 2015, at 8:00 PM at the Metro Points Hotel, 8500 Annapolis Road, New Carrollton, MD 20784, as part of the celebration of the 17th Anniversary of NOSLINA and the 54th Anniversary of Sierra Leone’s Independence.

 The 2015 NOSLINA Award recipients are:

DISTINGUISHED LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: The Reverend Alice Fitzjohn, for a lifetime of service that has produced tremendous positive impact on Sierra Leoneans both here and in Sierra Leone.

DIAMOND AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE – the Organization’s Highest Award: The Council of Paramount Chiefs – Kailahun District, for having made a profound impact on an innumerable number of lives in the Republic of Sierra Leone through efforts at fighting the Ebola disease in Kailahun District, enabling them to be the first area in the country of Sierra Leone to not only start showing a decline, but to eradicate the disease.

ENTREPRENEURIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD: Ms. Fatmata Koroma, Chief Executive Director/Founder of Therapeutic Interventions Inc., for providing Sierra Leoneans and the surrounding and international communities with programs on education, health and wellness.

ENTREPRENEURIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD: Mrs. Nora Wellington, CEO/Founder of N. Wellington Associates LLC, for providing coaching and counseling services for elderly citizens and their primary care givers on best-practices associated with long term care.

ENTREPRENEURIAL LEADERSHIP AWARD: Mr. Lamin Bah, Founder/President/CEO of Global Clothing Industries, LLC. for providing fulfilling employment for refugees from Sierra Leone, other African nations, and Asia.

ENTREPRENEURIALL LEADERSHIP AWARD: Mr. Bankole Jones, CEO/Founder of African Calabash Magazine, for providing a magazine with the main focus of showcasing the culture, lifestyle, education and business relevant to Africans in the Diaspora and at home in Africa.

COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP AWARD: Annie Walsh Old Girls Association (AWOGA), for working as a team on goals and objectives, including; providing financial and moral support to its alma mater in its mission to educate and develop young girls in Sierra Leone in pursuit of excellence in all areas.

COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP AWARD: African Foundation for Development in Sierra Leone (AFFORD-SL) for facilitating the creation, protection and maintenance of jobs through practical support of Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprises (MSME).

COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP AWARD: Prince of Wales Alumni Association (California Branch), for actively engaging the raising of funds to implement programs geared towards improving education at the Prince of Wales School and ultimately in Sierra Leone.

HUMANITARIAN LEADERSHIP AWARD: Reverend Gloria Cline-Smythe, for volunteering; offering dedicated service – especially in times of crisis; and working and interacting among all sectors of people regardless of religious or social backgrounds.

HUMANITARIAN LEADERSHIP AWARD: Mrs. Imodale Caulker-Burnett, for starting the Lesana Community Development and Rehabilitation Services (LCDRS) in order to provide support and funding to improve the quality of life for the people of Mambo, Kagboro Chiefdom.

HUMANITARIAN LEADERSHIP AWARD: Mrs. Nadia Bangura, for efficiently and effectively providing, for over 20 years, unwaveringly support to the Sierra Leone Community and Diaspora in her capacity as Confidential Assistant to the Ambassador.

DISTINGUISHED POSTHUMOUS AWARD: Dr. Sheikh Humaar Khan, for his contributions, through the field of medicine, to Sierra Leone and Sierra Leoneans whose lives he touched, saved, and ultimately died for.

DISTINGUISHED POSTHUMOUS AWARD: Mrs. Florence Magainda Margai, for having made a profound impact on the people of Sierra Leone, particularly in promoting malaria research and educational support by being instrumental in the founding of a school that services two chiefdoms – Mano SaKrim and Yakemo Kpukumu Krim.

We offer our congratulations and best wishes to all our Award Recipients and we look forward to you joining us as we celebrate them on May 2nd.

To purchase tickets for the NOSLINA Gala, please call: 410-412-4311; 202-696-0046; or 301-346-9691. Ticket prices are $70.00 (regular) and $100.00 (patron).


Related Posts